PIPTA originated as a nonprofit organization in 2005 and was then called the Northwest Parking Association (NWPA). It was founded by a group of professionals who saw value in a regional organization designed to provide parking and transportation colleagues a forum to discuss common challenges, share information, and keep abreast of best practices. Founding members included Steve Cordon, Jared Everett, Judith Gray, Michael Jacobs, Casey Jones, Ruth Lane, Kevin Kinney, John Shaheen, Rand Stramm, and Angela Timmen. Casey Jones from University of Colorado at Boulder served as the first Board President.

NWPA held its inaugural conference in Vancouver, WA between July 30 and August 1, 2006. By the time the third annual conference was held in Boise in 2008, NWPA was already going strong with 120 attendees and proving attractive to professionals across the west. Consequently, when the fourth annual conference rolled out between July 26-28 2009 in Tacoma the organization had changed its name to Pacific Intermountain Parking and Transportation Association (PIPTA) to reflect its broader geographical reach into the mountain west states and to include transportation as well as parking. Celebrating its tenth anniversary in 2015 the PIPTA conference had grown to 27 educational sessions, including a Green Garage certification workshop in partnership with the International Parking Institute.

PIPTA is still growing strong today and has not wavered from its core mission: to provide for the growth and development of people and organizations involved in parking and transportation.

History of PIPTA Conferences:

1 Vancouver, Washington July 30-August 1, 2006 (as NWPA)
2 Vancouver, Washington July 30-August 1, 2007 (as NWPA)
3 Boise, Idaho July 27-29, 2008 (as NWPA)
4 Tacoma, Washington July 26-28, 2009
5 Boulder, Colorado August 1-3, 2010 (in partnership with RMACT)
6 Vancouver, Washington July 17-19, 2011
7 Seattle, Washington July 15-17, 2012
8 Eugene, Oregon July 14-16, 2013
9 Seattle, Washington July 13-15, 2014
10 Vancouver, Washington July 20-22, 2015
11 Denver, Colorado July 20-22, 2015
12 Tacoma, Washington July 12-14, 2017
13 Portland, Oregon July 25-27, 2018 (upcoming)